page hero image /img_page_heroes/_mac6470.jpg

Covers the whole Baltic sea region

Dedicated to young filmmakers from the Baltic Sea region, who still haven’t made their first full-length feature. With this program, we aim to reflect the cinematic trends of these countries, their dominating topics, and problems, while searching for emerging talents and putting them in the spotlight and stimulating competition. 

Competitive program:

All genres and forms are welcome, including feature, animation, documentary and experimental films. The main criterions for selection are professionalism, creativity, artistic value and originality.

Non-competitive program:

Selection of shorts from a guest country, which is not a part of the Baltic sea region. The selection presents the best short films to come from the guest country during the past five years.

icon for 9 countries

9 countries

Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Poland, Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Russia, Germany

icon for 2 winners each year

2 winners each year

Win financial support towards your next film

icon for Founded in 2008

Founded in 2008

Started as a competition for young filmmakers from Lithuania, Latvia & Estonia.

icon for International jury

International jury

The winners are being selected by an international jury, consisting of acknowledged European film professionals.

Who can participate?

All genres and forms are welcome, including feature, animation, documentary, and experimental films.

Main eligibility criteria: 

  • Films up to 45 min;
  • Film was created no longer than 2 years before the premiere in NBC;
  • Film was not previously shown online or in any Lithuanian festival and cinema;
  • Director is a citizen of Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Poland, Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Russia, Germany or production company and the company that owns the rights to the film is registered in one of these countries.

Application deadline

Submit films before August 10th

Two prizes each year

Competition has two prizes: one for the best Lithuanian short and one for the best film of the program. 

The financial prize for each winner

Each winner will receive a financial prize to help fund their next project.

Award ceremony

The winners will be announced and awarded during the closing ceremony of SCANORAMA film festival in Vilnius. 

icon for Fund your next film

Fund your next film

We give financial prize to 2 winners each year to help fund your next film

icon for Free registration

Free registration

You don't need to pay anything for the registration and can submit more than one film.

Jury 2019

photo of Linde Fröhlich

Linde Fröhlich

President of the "New Baltic Cinema" Jury

President of Jury. Artistic Director of the Nordic Film Days Lübeck. Linde is on the Board of the Children’s and Youth Centre in Germany and Chairperson of the Jury of the Deutsche Film- und Medienbewertung.

photo of Nerina T. Kocjančič

Nerina T. Kocjančič

Member “New Baltic Cinema” Jury

Slovenian film critic, author of books on Slovenian cinema. She is the Head of Promotion & Distributon at Slovenian Film Centre, a member of the European Film Academy and the Board of Directors of European Film Promotion.

photo of Ruth Lev Ari

Ruth Lev Ari

Member “New Baltic Cinema” Jury

Curator of Haifa IFF Industry Events. She is an artistic consultant to Israel Film Foundations and National Television, teaches at Minshar School of Art and is the curator of the Haifa Script Distillery developing Film and TV projects for the International Market.

photo of Jakob Berg

Jakob Berg

Member “New Baltic Cinema” Jury

Communication adviser for The Norwegian Film Institute. Prior to working for the Norwegian Film Institute, Berg did domestic marketing for selected Norwegian films.

photo of Miroljub Vučković

Miroljub Vučković

Member “New Baltic Cinema” Jury

Film critic, essayist and journalist. Program adviser at international film festivals (including Busan, Thessaloniki, Rotterdam, Toronto). Head of International Relations and Promotion in Film Center Serbia.

Questions about New Baltic Cinema?

Klementina Remeikaitė photo

Klementina Remeikaitė

NBK coordinator